Skwigly Online Animation Magazine Advanced Search

Oscar wins for ‘Inside Out’, ‘Bear Story’ and ‘Ex Machina’

// Business, Featured, News

The 2016 Oscar winners have been announced, and while the world at large can finally rest now that Leo has had his day, we at Skwigly are as ever more focused on the animation-centric categories, the results of which proved equally predictable and surprising.

The former instance saw Inside Out (Dir. Pete Docter/Ronnie del Carmen)’s more-or-less inevitable win, the Disney/Pixar crowdpleaser having charmed international audiences and topped our recent Skwigly reader’s poll.

In complete defiance of expectation (at least among the Skwigly audience who ranked it last to win without a single vote in the reader’s poll), taking home the award for Best Animated Short was Gabriel Osorio’s Bear Story (Historia De Un Oso) from Punkrobot Animation Studio, beating out the much-buzzed-about contenders World of Tomorrow (Don Hertzfeldt), We Can’t Live Without Cosmos (Konstantin Bronzit), Prologue (Richard Williams) and Sanjay’s Super Team (Sanjay Patel).

Elsewhere, amongst the VFX contenders Ex Machina (Andrew Whitehurst, Paul Norris, Mark Ardington and Sara Bennett) proved triumphant, beating out poll favourites Mad Max: Fury Road and Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

What are your thoughts on this year’s winners? Let us know in the comments below or via Twitter.

Share this article

Get our latest articles - in your inbox

Enter your email to receive articles straight to your inbox. (This is not a newsletter sign-up, just a handy way for you to receive latest Skwigly content)

Skwigly Animation
You've heard of Vampires? But have you ever heard of TRAMPIRES? Read our review of the action packed stop motion go…
Twitter buttons
Ha Huy Hoang
Chuck Steel: Night of the Trampires - Review - Skwigly Animation Magazine
Twitter buttons
Flip Top Jim
@skwigly @ChuckSteelMovie @annecyfestival @AnimortalStudio Wow, that is reassuring to read. Tbh I was a tiny bit tr…
Twitter buttons
Skwigly Animation
Chuck Steel: Night of the Trampires had its world premiere at Annecy last week. What did we make of the film? Read…
Twitter buttons

Advanced Search & Filter


Find articles by a specific writer