10 animated shorts advance in 2017 Oscar® race

By 0 Business, Featured, News,
10 animated shorts advance in 2017 Oscar® race

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences have announced the ten animated shorts (out of seventy qualifiers) that will go forward for consideration of an 89th Academy Awards® nomination.

Click on the films listed below to learn more about their production from recent exclusive Skwigly interviews:

The Head Vanishes (Dir. Franck Dion, NFB/Papy3D)

Pearl (Dir. Patrick Osborne, Google ATAP)

Piper (Dir. Alan Barillaro, Disney/Pixar)

Blind Vaysha (Dir. Theodore Ushev, National Film Board of Canada)

The other six films that have advanced are:

Sous Tes Doigts/Under Your Fingers (Dir. Marie-Christine Courtès, Vivement Lundi!)

Pear Cider and Cigarettes (Dir. Robert Valley, Passion Pictures/Massive Swerve)

Borrowed Time (Dir. Andrew Coats/Lou Hamou-Lhadj, Quorum Films)

Inner Workings (Dir. Leo Matsuda, Disney)

Happy End (Dir. Jan Saska, FAMU)

Once Upon A Line (Dir. Alicja Jasina, University of Southern California)

From this current shortlist five nominees will be selected by Short Films and Feature Animation Branch members in December. The nominations will be announced live on January 24th with the 89th Oscars® themselves to be held on February 26th, 2017 at Hollywood’s Dolby Theatre.

About the Author

Ben Mitchell is a Bristol-based animation/post-production freelancer, independent director, composer and graphic novelist. As a freelancer he has produced animation work for CBeebies, Channel 4, Plymptoons, Somethin'...

 Find out more 

Want articles delivered to your inbox?